No products in the cart.

4 Things to Know About Getting Your Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland

4 Things to Know About Getting Your Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland

Published by Programme B

Marijuana is one of the most interesting discoveries in the medical industry in recent years. 

The cannabinoids found in the herb have been linked to several medical benefits, including stress, depression, and chronic pain. 

Unfortunately, in states like Maryland, the magic herb is still pretty restricted and only legal through the medical marijuana route. 

Still, this shouldn’t be an obstacle if you need to use cannabis for medicinal purposes.

Getting the medical marijuana card gives you access to the flower or THC extract as prescribed by your doctor. 

If you’ve been living in Maryland but have no idea how to get access to marijuana for your condition without getting into a rumble with the cops, you’re in the right place. 

Here are things you need to know and do to ensure you get your medical marijuana card in Maryland.

State Requirements

Not everyone can apply and get a marijuana card unless they meet specific conditions. 

To be considered for an MJ card in Maryland, you must be a resident. Non-residents can’t get approved and can’t access marijuana legally through the state program. If you are a resident but live outside the State, you will need to prove your residency during the application process. 

The state only allows individuals aged 18 years and above to apply for the card for themselves. 

Anyone under this age needs to apply through a caregiver. The caregiver should be at least 21 years old to apply for a minor. Caregivers must also register with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission before representing a minor. 

Apart from the caregiver, a pediatric representation for minors is mandatory as well. 

Special, recognized groups have special consideration when applying for marijuana cards in Maryland. 

Visit a Cannabis Caregiver

You can only get a marijuana card once a state-certified physician analyzes your medical background and approves your need for the drugs.

The doctor will ask questions regarding your condition when you first talk, and then they’ll need your medical records before they greenlight the application process. 

Also, besides your interest in trying cannabis, the doctor only approves conditions that fall within the ones listed by the state. 

Maryland law approves the use of medicinal marijuana for patients with:

  • Chronic pain
  • Seizures
  • PTSD
  • Anorexia
  • Glaucoma
  • Cachexia
  • Severe muscle spasms
  • Severe Nausea 
  • Wasting Syndrome

Any other condition not mentioned but is considered severe and can be “reasonably relieved” with marijuana also can be considered.  

This list of conditions is as of the 2020 Maryland Legislation. 

Register With the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission

Once you get approved by an MMJ doctor, you’re halfway there.

State guidelines require you to begin the online registration process with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC). It’s much like Washington DC, where you must register with the DC DOH after physician approval. For more about how the process goes in DC, check out Metro XMD.

You’ll need to sign up on the MMCC online portal and pay the $50 state fee. Then upload your documents and basic information, including:

  • A valid government-issued ID (showing you Maryland address)
  • A clear picture with a white background
  • Notarized form (for minors)

Once approved, you will receive a temporary MMCC ID card. Always carry this card with your state-issued photo ID when going to dispensaries. 

MMCC will mail you a three-year valid medical cannabis card after like 4-weeks. The physical card is recertified annually. 

Get Your Stash from a Licensed Retailer

Once you have the required documents, visit the nearest licensed Maryland dispensary to get your marijuana dose. 

When making the purchase, you will need to present your MMCC ID card, which will be verified from the certification commission’s database. 

Remember that you must purchase within the first 120 days of your certifications to avoid your MMCC ID card getting revoked. 


The four tips above will help you know what to expect when applying for an MJ card and what is needed for your application to go through.

Sure, getting legal, medical cannabis in Maryland can be tedious, especially since the state doesn’t have that many medical marijuana doctors to speed up approvals.

However, the state’s program is effective, and with a little patience, you’ll be enjoying your stash in no time.

Photo by Виталий Горбачев from Pexels