Close
Close

No products in the cart.

What is Lactose-Free Diet ?

What is Lactose-Free Diet ?

Programme B
Published by Programme B

Lactose intolerance happens when your small intestines do not produce enough lactase enzyme to break down milk sugar. The sugar found in milk is known as lactose. 

Typically, the enzyme lactase breaks down this sugar into glucose and galactose. 

Lactose-free foods include: 

Yogurts

People with lactose intolerance can still enjoy their yogurts, though not the typical milk-based versions. Luckily, there are delicious lactose-free yogurt options available today. 

The base ingredient in these includes soya, rice, coconut, and almond milk. 

Meat

Meat products such as beef, poultry, fish and their products can be enjoyed as long as they are prepared without milk. Eggs are safe as well.

Légumes

Legumes are plant-based foods with pods that carry seeds inside. These include beans, peas, soybeans, chickpeas, lentils, peanuts, and so on. 

These are a great source of minerals, fiber, vitamins, and protein.

Grains

Rice, oats, buckwheat, millet, and popcorn and their products are safe as long as no dairy is added when cooking. 

Breads and Starches

If you enjoy your wheat products, you are able to keep eating them safely as long as they are not prepared with any milk. 

Think pancakes without milk and Italian and French bread. You can have your cereal without milk. 

Macaroni, pasta, and noodles are safe as well. You can also enjoy potatoes with all their different variations. 

However, be a bit more careful with instant potato mashes as they often contain lactose. The same goes for frozen potato foods. If you have to buy these, purchase trusted brands that indicate the product contains no milk or milk components. 

Fruits and Vegetables

These are just about the safest foods you can eat with lactose intolerance. Fresh, organic fruits and vegetables have nothing added to them. 

This makes them extremely safe for people with lactose intolerance as they have zero milk or milk compounds in them. At times, processed foods that don’t contain milk can get traces of milk during processing. 

Fresh fruits and veggies do not go through any process. Hence, they are unlikely to have milk traces from processing.

The same goes for natural herbs and spices. 

Desserts and Sweets

You will still have a wide array of desserts and sweets even as you avoid milk. 

Jellies, jams, gelatin desserts without milk, syrups, and honey are a great place to start when craving something sweet. 

Fruit ices and sorbets, pureed fruit bars, and cakes and pies baked without milk can also be eaten and enjoyed safely. 

Variety is Key

While there are foods you cannot eat, you still have many options and substitutes to pick from. 

Read more on what these are and find foods you would enjoy most from that list. With this in mind, you can find various recipes and preparations to help you enjoy these foods in a multitude of ways. As they say, variety is the spice of life.

Photo by Sinitta Leunen from Pexels

Close
↓ THIS IS AN AD ↓
↓ THIS IS AN AD ↓